Current & Previous Recipeints

The Gold Standard Award for Optimal Aging celebrates older adults over age 85 celebrates and honors older adults who embody the Institute’s vision for a world where all older adults lead engaged and flourishing lives. These individuals are recognize by their community as outstanding models of optimal aging in the following areas: physical, social, spiritual, and creative. Winners are separated into individual and couples categories

Previous Recipients: 2014

Current Recipients: 2016

UofL Spirit Award
Sherrill Brakmeier, 93

Male Industry Award
Representative Thomas Burch, 85

Years of Wisdom Award
Cecil Burnett, 105

Outstanding Female Award
Sister Mary Brendan Conlon, OSU, 89

Outstanding Male Award
Anthony Heitzman, 85

Male Veteran Award
Clarence Hunt, 91

Female Industry Award
Rose Moore, 89

Female Veteran Award
Edith Pitzer, 93

Out-of-State Award
Jacob & Maria Vermeulen, 88 & 85

Outstanding Male Award
John "Jack" Wright, MD, 88

  Outstanding Couple Award
  Walter & Carolyn Reichert, 86


Click here to view the bios of our Nominees & Awardees!